How are Pseudomonas classified?

Updated: Dec 17, 2018
  • Author: Selina SP Chen, MD, MPH; Chief Editor: Russell W Steele, MD  more...
  • Print

The current classification of the genus Pseudomonas is divided into 5 groups based on ribosomal RNA (rRNA)/DNA homology. Of the more than 20 pseudomonal species that have been found from human clinical specimens, the following 4 representative organisms are discussed in this article:

  • P aeruginosa (homology group I)

  • Burkholderia (Pseudomonas) cepacia (group II)

  • Burkholderia (Pseudomonas) pseudomallei (group II)

  • Burkholderia (Pseudomonas) mallei (group II)

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!