What are the subtypes of polyostotic sclerosing histiocytosis (Erdheim-Chester disease [ECD])?

Updated: Sep 16, 2020
  • Author: Cameron K Tebbi, MD; Chief Editor: Vikramjit S Kanwar, MBBS, MBA, MRCP(UK), FAAP  more...
  • Print


Subtypes of ECD include the following:

  • Classical type
  • Without bone involvement
  • Associated with another myeloproliferative/myelodysplastic disorder
  • Extracutaneous or disseminated juvenile xanthogranuloma with mutation in mitogen-activated protein kinase (MAPK) pathway or anaplastic lymphoma kinase (ALK) translocation

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!