How is mold-related allergic asthma staged?

Updated: Dec 02, 2020
  • Author: Shih-Wen Huang, MD; Chief Editor: Harumi Jyonouchi, MD  more...
  • Print

According to Global Initiatives for Asthma: Global Strategy for Asthma Management and Prevention, asthma can be classified into 4 stages according to its severity, as follows:

  • Stage I - Mild intermittent (symptoms < 1 time per wk, nighttime symptoms < 2 times per mo)

  • Stage II - Mild persistent (daytime symptoms >2 times per wk, nighttime symptoms >2 times per mo)

  • Stage III - Moderate persistent (symptoms daily, nighttime symptoms >1 time per wk)

  • Stage IV - Severe persistent (symptoms continuous, nighttime symptoms frequent)

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!