What are the IHS criteria for migraine with aura?

Updated: Jun 17, 2021
  • Author: Aaron G Benson, MD; Chief Editor: Arlen D Meyers, MD, MBA  more...
  • Print


Migraine with aura, formally known as classic migraine, is categorized by headache and aura features. The headache characteristics are the same as those for migraine without aura, above. The aura is characterized by at least 2 attacks of the following:

  • One reversible aura symptom indicating focal central nervous system (CNS) dysfunction - Ie, vertigo, tinnitus, decreased hearing, ataxia, visual symptoms in 1 hemifield of both eyes, dysarthria, double vision, paresthesias, paresis, decreased level of consciousness

  • Aura symptom that develops gradually over more than 4 minutes or 2 or more symptoms that occur in succession

  • No aura symptom that lasts more than 60 minutes unless more than 1 aura symptom is present

  • Headache occurring before, during, or up to 60 minutes after the aura is completed

Migraine with prolonged aura fulfills criteria for migraine with aura; however, the aura lasts more than 60 minutes (but less than 7 days).

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!