What is the tumor, node, and metastasis (TNM) system for staging rhabdomyosarcoma?

Updated: Feb 01, 2019
  • Author: Amelia F Drake, MD; Chief Editor: Arlen D Meyers, MD, MBA  more...
  • Print


See the list below:

  • Stage I: Disease is localized and involves the orbit, the head and neck region (excluding parameningeal sites), or the nonbladder and/or nonprostate genitourinary region.

  • Stage II: This stage includes any localized disease of any unfavorable primary site not included in the stage I category. The primary tumor must be less than or equal to 5 cm in diameter.

  • Stage III: The criteria are the same as in stage II except the primary tumor is larger than 5 cm in diameter and/or it involves regional lymph nodes.

  • Stage IV: Like group IV, stage IV implies metastatic disease at the time of diagnosis.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!