Which fibrin-specific agents are used in thrombolytic therapy?

Updated: Aug 04, 2021
  • Author: Wanda L Rivera-Bou, MD, FAAEM, FACEP; Chief Editor: Erik D Schraga, MD  more...
  • Print


Fibrin-specific agents, which include alteplase (tPA), reteplase (recombinant plasminogen activator [r-PA]), and tenecteplase, produce limited plasminogen conversion in the absence of fibrin. Non–fibrin-specific agents (eg, streptokinase) catalyze systemic fibrinolysis. Streptokinase is indicated for the treatment of AMI, acute massive pulmonary embolism (PE), deep vein thrombosis (DVT), arterial thrombosis, and occluded arteriovenous cannula. It is not widely used in the United States but is still used elsewhere because of its lower cost.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!