What is the NIH classification for chronic bacterial prostatitis (CBP)?

Updated: May 25, 2021
  • Author: Samantha D Kraemer, MD; Chief Editor: Edward David Kim, MD, FACS  more...
  • Print

The National Institutes of Health (NIH) classification was developed in 1998 and replaced the traditional classification. This system has been generally accepted as the best for clinical research and practice. [7] The NIH classification has the following four categories:

  • Category I - Acute bacterial prostatitis
  • Category II - Chronic bacterial prostatitis (CBP)
  • Category III - Chronic pelvic pain syndrome (CPPS)
  • Category IV - Asymptomatic inflammatory prostatitis

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!