How is ulcerative colitis (UC) graded?

Updated: Apr 23, 2019
  • Author: Ali Nawaz Khan, MBBS, FRCS, FRCP, FRCR; Chief Editor: Eugene C Lin, MD  more...
  • Print


Histologic scoring systems for UC include the Geboes score, the Nancy score, and the Robarts Histopathology Index. [4, 13, 14, 15, 16]  The Geboes score has 6 grades: 0, structural change only; 1, chronic inflammation; 2, lamina propria neutrophils; 3, neutrophils in epithelium; 4, crypt destruction; and 5, erosions or ulcers. The Nancy score includes 3 histologic items that define 5 grades of activity: absence of significant histologic disease, chronic inflammatory infiltrate with no acute inflammatory infiltrate, mildly active disease, moderately active disease, and severely active disease. The Robarts histopathology index includes 4 grades: chronic inflammatory infiltrate, lamina propria neutrophils, neutrophils in the epithelium, and erosions or ulcerations.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!