How is traumatic brain injury (TBI) severity measured?

Updated: Mar 02, 2020
  • Author: Percival H Pangilinan, Jr, MD; Chief Editor: Stephen Kishner, MD, MHA  more...
  • Print


See the list below:

  • Glasgow Coma Scale (GCS): A 3- to 15-point scale used to assess a patient's level of consciousness and neurologic functioning [3, 4] ; scoring is based on best motor response, best verbal response, and eye opening (eg, eyes open to pain, open to command)

  • Duration of loss of consciousness: Classified as mild (mental status change or loss of consciousness [LOC] < 30 min), moderate (mental status change or LOC 30 min to 6 hr), or severe (mental status change or LOC >6 hr)

  • Posttraumatic amnesia (PTA): The time elapsed from injury to the moment when patients can demonstrate continuous memory of what is happening around them [5]

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!