How is sarcoidosis staged?

Updated: Sep 15, 2020
  • Author: Nader Kamangar, MD, FACP, FCCP, FCCM; Chief Editor: Zab Mosenifar, MD, FACP, FCCP  more...
  • Print

Stage 0 is normal chest radiography findings.

Stage I is bilateral hilar lymphadenopathy (BHL). See the image below.

Stage I sarcoidosis. Stage I sarcoidosis.

Stage II is BHL and infiltrates. See the image below.

Stage II sarcoidosis. Stage II sarcoidosis.

Stage III is infiltrates alone. See the image below.

Stage III sarcoidosis. Stage III sarcoidosis.

Stage IV is fibrosis.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!