How is renal transitional cell carcinoma staged?

Updated: Nov 05, 2019
  • Author: Bagi RP Jana, MD, MBA, MHA, FACP; Chief Editor: E Jason Abel, MD  more...
  • Print

The TNM staging system of the International Union Against Cancer (UICC) is used to stage upper urinary tract carcinomas.

Primary tumor (T) classifications include the following:

  • TX – Primary tumor is occult and cannot be assessed

  • T0 – No evidence of primary tumor

  • Ta – Papillary noninvasive carcinoma

  • Tis – Carcinoma in situ

  • T1 – Carcinoma involves subepithelial connective tissue

  • T2 – Carcinoma invades the muscularis

  • T3 – Carcinoma invades beyond muscularis into periureteric or peripelvic fat or into renal parenchyma

  • T4 – Carcinoma invades adjacent organs or extends through the kidney into perinephric fat

Regional lymph node (N) classifications include the following:

  • NX – Regional lymph nodes cannot be assessed

  • N0 – No regional lymph node metastasis

  • N1 – Metastasis in a single lymph node, 2 cm or less in greatest dimension

  • N2 – Metastasis in a single lymph node 2-5 cm in greatest dimension; or multiple metastatic lymph nodes, none more than 5 cm in greatest dimension

  • N3 – Metastasis in a lymph node more than 5 cm in greatest dimension

Distant metastasis (M) classifications include the following:

  • MX – Presence of distant metastasis cannot be assessed

  • M0 – No distant metastasis

  • M1 – Distant metastasis

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!