How is acute kidney injury (AKI) classified?

Updated: Dec 24, 2020
  • Author: Biruh T Workeneh, MD, PhD, FASN; Chief Editor: Vecihi Batuman, MD, FASN  more...
  • Print

AKI may be classified into 3 general categories, as follows:

  • Prerenal - As an adaptive response to severe volume depletion and hypotension, with structurally intact nephrons
  • Intrinsic - In response to cytotoxic, ischemic, or inflammatory insults to the kidney, with structural and functional damage
  • Postrenal - From obstruction to the passage of urine

While this classification is useful in establishing a differential diagnosis, many pathophysiologic features are shared among the different categories. (See Etiology.)

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!