What are the stages of follicular lymphoma?

Updated: Mar 03, 2020
  • Author: Lauren C Pinter-Brown, MD; Chief Editor: Emmanuel C Besa, MD  more...
  • Print


Most patients with follicular lymphoma present at an advanced stage, and most patients have bone marrow involvement at diagnosis. Staging is as follows:

  • Stage I - One involved lymph node or lymph node area
  • Stage II - Two or more involved lymph nodes or lymph node areas on the same side of diaphragm
  • Stage III - Involved lymph node or lymph node areas on both sides of diaphragm
  • Stage IV - Disseminated disease, such as bone marrow, liver, or central nervous system (CNS) involvement

See also Pathologic classification systems under Histologic Findings and Follicular Lymphoma (Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma) Staging

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!