How is follicular lymphoma staged?

Updated: Mar 03, 2020
  • Author: Lauren C Pinter-Brown, MD; Chief Editor: Emmanuel C Besa, MD  more...
  • Print


Most patients with follicular lymphoma present at an advanced stage, and most patients have bone marrow involvement at diagnosis. Staging is as follows:

  • Stage I – One involved lymph node or lymph node area
  • Stage II – Two or more involved lymph nodes or lymph node areas on the same side of diaphragm
  • Stage III – Involved lymph node or lymph node areas on both sides of diaphragm
  • Stage IV – Disseminated disease, such as bone marrow, liver, or central nervous system involvement

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!