What is the Swartz classification system for Kaposi sarcoma (KS)?

Updated: Mar 09, 2021
  • Author: Robert A Schwartz, MD, MPH; Chief Editor: Edwin Choy, MD, PhD  more...
  • Print


Stage I:

  • Represents localized nodular Kaposi sarcoma, with >15 cutaneous lesions or involvement restricted to one bilateral anatomic site and few, if any, gut nodules

Stage II:

  • Includes both exophytic destructive lesions and locally infiltrative cutaneous lesions as locally aggressive Kaposi sarcoma

Stage III:

  • Generalized lymphadenopathic Kaposi sarcoma has widespread lymph node involvement, with or without skin lesions, but with no visceral involvement

Stage IV:

  • Disseminated visceral Kaposi sarcoma has widespread Kaposi sarcoma, usually progressing from stage II or stage III, with involvement of multiple visceral organs

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!