What is the Mitsuyasu classification system for Kaposi sarcoma (KS)?

Updated: Mar 09, 2021
  • Author: Robert A Schwartz, MD, MPH; Chief Editor: Edwin Choy, MD, PhD  more...
  • Print


Stage I:

  • Localized nodular Kaposi sarcoma in elderly men in North America and Europe

Stage II:

  • Localized, invasive, and aggressive Kaposi sarcoma (mostly seen in Africa)

Stage III:

  • Disseminated mucocutaneous Kaposi sarcoma in African children and men who have sex with men

Stage IV:

  • Stage III with visceral involvement

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!