Which neurologic areas are the focus of National Institutes of Health Stroke Scale (NIHSS)?

Updated: Dec 03, 2018
  • Author: Ashish Nanda, MD; Chief Editor: Andrew K Chang, MD, MS  more...
  • Print

The NIHSS is easily used and focuses on the following 6 major areas of the neurologic examination:

  • level of consciousness

  • Visual function

  • Motor function

  • Sensation and neglect

  • Cerebellar function

  • Language

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!