What are the different types of home sleep test (HST) monitors?

Updated: Sep 24, 2019
  • Author: Wendy M Smith, MD; Chief Editor: Arlen D Meyers, MD, MBA  more...
  • Print


Three categories of portable monitors (Type II, III, and IV) are used in the diagnosis of OSA in either an attended or unattended setting.

Note that type III and IV portable monitors do not detect sleep stages. Instead, they extrapolate the respiratory disturbance index (RDI) or AHI based on the time period over which the recorder was switched on.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!