What are the AHA/ACC stages of chronic aortic regurgitation (AR)?

Updated: Nov 19, 2018
  • Author: Stanley S Wang, JD, MD, MPH; Chief Editor: Terrence X O'Brien, MD, MS, FACC  more...
  • Print

In 2014, the AHA/ACC released a revision to its 2008 guidelines for management of patients with VHD; [4] and ESC/EACTS issued a revision of its 2007 guidelines in 2012. [42] The Society of Thoracic Surgeons (STS) published guidelines for the management of aortic valve disease in 2013. [9]

The 2014 AHA/ACC guidelines classify progression of chronic aortic regurgitation (AR) into 4 stages (A to D) as follows: [4]

  • Stage A: At Risk of AR
  • Stage B: Asymptomatic with progressive AR (mild to moderate) 
  • Stage C: Asymptomatic with severe AR
  • Stage D: Symptomatic with severe AR

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!