What are the types of melanoma?

Updated: Jun 28, 2021
  • Author: Jonathan B Heistein, MD; Chief Editor: Gregory Gary Caputy, MD, PhD, FICS  more...
  • Print


Melanomas are classified into 4 major types based on growth pattern. They are superficial spreading melanoma, nodular melanoma, lentigo maligna melanoma, and acral lentiginous melanoma. Other more unusual types include mucosal lentiginous melanoma, desmoplastic melanoma, and verrucous melanoma.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!