How are the neurologic deficits of rheumatoid arthritis (RA) of the cervical spine classified?

Updated: Aug 13, 2019
  • Author: Steven R Garfin, MD; Chief Editor: Jeffrey A Goldstein, MD  more...
  • Print


The Ranawat classification can be used to categorize patients with rheumatoid myelopathy on the basis of their clinical history and physical findings. [38] This classification has some utility in determining the potential for neurologic recovery following surgery and is categorized as follows [38] :

  • Class I - No neural deficit
  • Class II - Subjective weakness, dysesthesias, and hyperreflexia
  • Class IIIA - Objective weakness and long-tract signs; patient remains ambulatory
  • Class IIIB - Objective weakness and long-tract signs; patient no longer ambulatory

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!