What are the forms of intraocular lymphoma?

Updated: Mar 15, 2019
  • Author: Manolette R Roque, MD, MBA, FPAO; Chief Editor: Hampton Roy, Sr, MD  more...
  • Print


There are 2 distinct forms of intraocular lymphoma. When the ocular disease appears to be a subset of primary central nervous system (CNS) lymphoma (PCNSL), the term “primary CNS lymphoma with ocular involvement” (PCNSLO) is used. In these cases, intraocular lymphoma can precede CNS involvement by months or years. The second form of intraocular lymphoma arises outside the CNS and metastasizes to the eye.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!