What is the Myasthenia Gravis Foundation of America (MGFA) thymectomy classification?

Updated: Aug 27, 2018
  • Author: Abbas A Jowkar, MBBS; Chief Editor: Nicholas Lorenzo, MD, CPE, MHCM, FAAPL  more...
  • Print

The Myasthenia Gravis Foundation of America (MGFA) has proposed a classification scheme for thymectomy, which is primarily based on techniques described in various published reports. [3]

The MGFA thymectomy classification is as follows:

  • T-1 transcervical thymectomy – Basic; extended

  • T-2 videoscopic thymectomy - Classic or VATS (video-assisted thoracic surgery) thymectomy; VATET (video-assisted thoracoscopic extended thymectomy)

  • T-3 transsternal thymectomy – Standard; extended

  • T-4 transcervical and transsternal thymectomy

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!