What scales other than the Kurtzke Expanded Disability Status Scale (EDSS) can be used to rate the disability of a patient with multiple sclerosis (MS)?

Updated: Oct 08, 2019
  • Author: Christopher Luzzio, MD; Chief Editor: Jasvinder Chawla, MD, MBA  more...
  • Print

Other useful scales include the Ambulation Index, which is based solely on the ability to walk 25 feet, and the Multiple Sclerosis Functional Composite (MSFC), which includes the Ambulation Index, the 9-hole peg test, and the PASAT attention test. The MSFC is reported as z scores, which have been difficult to translate into clinical significance. In addition, the Scripps Neurologic Rating Scale, developed by Sipe in 1984, has been used by some investigators. This scale has a finer incremental scale than the Kurtzke scale, but it is not widely accepted and does not consider cognitive involvement.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!