Which neurologic systems are evaluated in the Kurtzke Expanded Disability Status Scale (EDSS) in multiple sclerosis (MS)?

Updated: Oct 08, 2019
  • Author: Christopher Luzzio, MD; Chief Editor: Jasvinder Chawla, MD, MBA  more...
  • Print

The EDSS assigns a severity score to the patient's clinical status that ranges from 0–10 in increments of 0.5. The scores from grades 0–4 are determined using functional systems (FS) scales that evaluate dysfunction in the following 8 neurologic systems:

  • Pyramidal

  • Cerebellar

  • Brainstem

  • Sensory

  • Bladder and bowel

  • Vision

  • Cerebral

  • Other

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!